Sustainability Initiative

Key Websites
• Post Carbon Institute, www.PostCarbon.org
• The Oil Drum, www.theoildrum.com
• Transition Times, www.Transition-Times.com
• EAT LOCAL! website (local and global news about local food and farming), www.EatLocalGuide.com
• Transition Colorado, www.TransitionColorado.org
• Transition Colorado social networking, http://TransitionColorado.ning.com
• Transition Network, (int'l) www.TransitionNetwork.org
• Transition U.S., www.TransitionUS.org

Recent Articles, Essays and Papers
"What Will We Eat When the Oil Runs Out,?" by Richard Heinberg, Lady Eve Balfour Lecture http://www.energybulletin.net/node/38091
"The Food and Farming Transition: Toward a Post Carbon Food System," by Richard Heinberg and Michael Bomford, Post Carbon Institute http://www.energybulletin.net/51861
"Redefining Sustainable Agriculture," by Rich Kerstetter, Civil Eats http://civileats.com/2010/02/19/redefining-sustainable-agriculture-at-pasa/
"Climate Catastrophe: Surviving the 21st Century," by Ronnie Cummins and Will Allen, Organic Consumers Association http://www.organicconsumers.org/articles/article_20200.cfm
"387 ppm and Rising: A Plea for Greater Urgency in Developing Post-Carbon Living Arrangements," by Dan Allen http://www.energybulletin.net/51342
"Food Futures: Strategies for Resilient Food and Farming," Soil Association (UK), http://www.soilassociation.org/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=aBVYgjxtNOI%3D&...
“Kinsale (Ireland) Energy Descent Action Plan,” http://transitionculture.org/wp-content/uploads/KinsaleEnergyDescentActi...
"The Local Food and Farming Revolution," by Michael Brownlee http://www.energybulletin.net/51861


Documentary Films
• The End of Suburbia: Oil Depletion and the Collapse of the American Dream
• The Power of Community: How Cuba Survived Peak Oil
• Fresh
• Food, Inc.
• The Future of Food
• The Greenhorns (in production)
• In Transition 1.0
• The World According to Monsanto
• What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire
• Crude Impact
• King Corn

Books
• The Transition Handbook: From oil dependency to local resilience, by Rob Hopkins
• The Bridge at the Edge of the World: Capitalism, the Environment, and Crossing from Crisis to Sustainability, by James Gustave Speth
• Permaculture: Principles and Pathways Beyond Sustainability, by David Holmgren
• The Long Emergency: Surviving the End of Oil, Climate Change, and Other Converging Catastrophes of the 21st Century, by James Howard Kunstler
• World Made by Hand, by James Howard Kunstler
• The Long Descent: A User's Guide to the End of the Industrial Age, by John Michael Greer
• A Nation of Farmers: Defeating the Food Crisis on American Soil, by Sharon Astyk
• 2010 State of the World: Transforming Cultures from Consumers to Sustainability, Worldwatch Institute
• The Post Petroleum Survival Guide and Cookbook, by Albert Bates
• Everything I Want to Do Is Illegal: War Stories from the Local Food Front, by Joel Salatin
• Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life, by Barbara Kingsolver
• Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, by Michael Pollan
• In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto, by Michael Pollan
• Peak Everything: Waking Up to the Century of Declines, by Richard Heinberg
• Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future, by Bill McKibben
• Plan C: Community Survival Strategies for Peak Oil and Climate Change, by Pat Murphy
• The Upside of Down: Catastrophe, Creativity, and the Renewal of Civilization, by Thomas Homer-Dixon
• Sustainability: Radical Solutions Inspiring Hope, edited by Bob Banner/HopeDance
• Blessed Unrest: How the Largest Movement in the World Came into Being, and Why No One Saw It Coming, by Paul Hawken

Matthew Cleveland's list of community partners for his 3020 on Sustainable Agriculture:

*Boulder County Farmers Market (http://www.boulderfarmers.org/)
Cure Organic Farm in Boulder (http://www.cureorganicfarm.com/) Thursdays 9am-12pm until late October.
63rd St Farm (http://www.63rdstfarm.com/63st_Farm_Boulder_CO/Welcome.html)
Community Roots Urban Garden (http://www.communityrootsboulder.com/index.html)
Abbodanza Farm (tel. 303.485.7818 - http://www.eatabbo.org/volunteers.html)
*Growing Gardens (http://www.growinggardens.org/)
Frog Belly Farm (http://frogbellyfarm.com)
Slow Food Boulder (http://www.slowfoodboulder.org/)
Slow Food CU (http://slowfoodcu.wordpress.com/)
Black Cat Farm (http://www.blackcatfarm.org/index.html)
Red Wagon Organic Farm (http://www.redwagonorganicfarm.com/index.htm)
Beyond Organic Farm (http://beyondorganicfarm.com/)
Organic Boulder (http://www.organicboulder.com/)
Boulder Homeless Shelter Garden (tel. 303 549 9787 - http://transitioncolorado.ning.com/events/boulder-homeless-shelter-1)
Pick Your Own Colorado (http://www.pickyourown.org/CO.htm)
Growe Foundation Longmont (http://www.growefoundation.org/)
Pachamama Organic Farm Longmont (http://www.pachamamafarm.com/home.html)
Edible Front Range Magazine (http://www.ediblecommunities.com/frontrange/)
Denver Urban Gardens (www.dug.org)
Yummy Yards (www.yummyyards.org)